Ahmed Lawan Emerges Senate President

Takes Oath Immediately After

by Doris Ukaonu

Ahmed Lawan Emerges Senate President

Senator Ahmed Lawan, the representative of  Yobe North Constituency was elected today, the 11th of June 2019, as the new president of the 9th senate of the National Assembly of Nigeria.

This was reported by Mohammed Sani-Omolori, the clerk of the National Assembly who also said that all the 107 lawmakers were involved in the election process. Senator Ahmed Lawan floored his opponent Sen. Ali-Ndume who represents Borno south with 79 votes and was immediately sworn in as the president of the senate.

Senator Lawan became a member of the National Assembly in 1999, and later became a senator in 2007, since then, he has retained his position as senator on three subsequent elections. He is also a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) party.

In 2008, Lawan was elected as a member of the National Assembly’s Joint Committee on Constitution Review. He became Chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Accounts in 2009. As Chairman, he facilitated the Desertification Control Commission Bill.

Senator Lawan has officially taken over from Bukola Abubakar Saraki, former President of Nigeria's Senate who has held the office since 2015.


News Source- Channels TV