Now Reading
AFRIFF 2019: Here’s the complete list of winners at the Globe Awards

AFRIFF 2019: Here’s the complete list of winners at the Globe Awards


After five days of screening several films and documentaries at the 9th edition of the African International Film Festival (AFRIFF), Nigeria emerged as one of the biggest winners with Akin Omotosho‘s ‘The Ghost and the House of Truth’ carting away three awards in three different categories that include Best Director and Best Female Performance.

AFRIFF 2019 also saw Roye Okupe‘s ‘Malika – Warrior Queen’, win the Best Animation category and ‘Rattlesnakes’ by Julius Amedume take home the award for the best feature film.

Check out the complete list of winners below:

Shorts Competition

Special Mention
UNITED KINGDOM: Appreciation by Tomisin Adepeju

Best Student Short

Best Animation
NIGERIA: Malika – Warrior Queen by Roye Okupe

Best Short
ITALY: My Tyson by Claudio Casale


Special Jury for outstanding film (usually fiction but Jury selected documentary for outstanding achievement overall)
BURKINA FASO: Sankara is Not Dead by Lucy Vivier

Best Documentary
KENYA: In Search by Beryl Magoko

Fiction Competition 

Special Mention
GHANA: Gold Coast Lounge by Pascal Aka

Best Male Performance
SOUTH AFRICA: Bongile Mantsai in Knuckle City

See Also

Best Female Performance
NIGERIA: Kate Henshaw in The Ghost & House of Truth

Best Screenplay
RWANDA: Ramata Sy for Our Lady of The Nile

Oronto Douglas Award for Best Nigerian Film
The Ghost & The House of Truth

Best Director
NIGERIA: Akin Omotoso for The Ghost & The House of Truth

Best Feature Film
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: Rattlesnakes by Julius Amedume

Audience Choice Award:
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA: Rattlesnakes by Julius Amedume

Peter Obi Legacy Award for Female Excellence
Lizzy Ovoeme

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

9 + six =

Scroll To Top